Commanders of the Royal Canadian Air Force

Officer Commanding – Canadian Air Force

1918	Lieutenant-Colonel William Avery Bishop, VC, CB, DSO, MC, DFC
1920 to 1921	Air Commodore Arthur Kellam Tylee, OBE
1921	Wing Commander Ronald Francis Redpath, CdeG
1921 to 1922	Wing Commander James Stanley Scott, MC, AFC



Director – Royal Canadian Air Force

1922 to 1924	Wing Commander James Lindsay Gordon, DFC
1924	Wing Commander William George Barker, VC, DSO and Bar, MC and 2 Bars
1924 to 1928	Group Captain James Stanley Scott, MC, AFC
1928 to 1932	Wing Commander Lloyd Samuel Breadner, CB, DSC
1932	Squadron Leader Albert Abraham Lawson Cuff

Senior Air Officer – Royal Canadian Air Force

1932	Group Captain James Lindsay Gordon, DFC
1933	Wing Commander George Owen Johnson, CB, MC
1934 to 1938	Air Vice-Marshal George Michael Croil, CBE, AFC

Chief of the Air Staff – Royal Canadian Air Force

1938 to 1940	Air Vice-Marshal George Michael Croil, CBE, AFC
1940 to 1943	Air Marshal Lloyd Samuel Breadner, CB, DSC
01/1944 to 08/1947	Air Marshal Robert Leckie, CB, DSO, DSC, DFC, CD
08/1947 to 1953	Air Marshal Wilfred ('Wilf') Austin Curtis, OC, CB, CBE, DSC & Bar, ED, CD
1953 to 1957	Air Marshal Charles Roy Slemon, CB, CBE, CD
1957 to 1962	Air Marshal Hugh Lester Campbell, CBE, CD
1962 to 1964	Air Marshal Clarence Rupert Dunlap, CBE, CD

No Overall Air Commander between 1964 and 1975

Provisional Commander Not a real Position

1914 to 1916

Captain Ernest Lloyd Janney

Really doesn't belong here He was sent to join the RFC Being the only Canadian sent, he styled himself As the Provisional Commander of the CAF

Commanders of the Royal Canadian Air Force

Commander - Air Command

1975 to 1978	Lieutenant-General William Keir Carr, CMM, DFC, CD
1978 to 1980	Lieutenant-General George Allan MacKenzie, CMM, CD
1980 to 1983	Lieutenant-General Kenneth Edward Lewis, CMM, CD
1983 to 1985	Lieutenant-General Paul David Manson, OC, CMM, OStJ, CD
1985 to 1986	Lieutenant-General Donald Malcolm McNaughton, CMM, CD
1986 to 1988	Lieutenant-General Larry Albert Ashley, CMM, CD
1988 to 1991	Lieutenant-General Frederick Raymond Sutherland, CMM, CD
1991 to 1993	Lieutenant-General David Huddleston, CMM, CD
1993 to 1995	Lieutenant-General George Scott Clements, CMM, CD
1995 to 1997	Lieutenant-General Allan Marvin DeQuetteville, CMM, CD



Chief of the Air Staff - Air Command

1997 to 2000	Lieutenant-General David Nevill Kinsman, CMM, CD
2000 to 2003	Lieutenant-General Lloyd Clark Campbell, CMM, CD
2003 to 2005	Lieutenant-General Kenneth Randall Pennie, CMM, CD
2005 to 2007	Lieutenant-General J. Steven Lucas, CMM, CD
2007 to 2009	Lieutenant-General Angus Watt, CMM, CD
2009 to 2011	Lieutenant-General André Deschamps, CMM, CD

Chief of the Air Forces Staff and Commander of the Royal Canadian Air Force

2011 to 2012	Lieutenant-General André Deschamps, CMM, CD
2012 2015	

- 2012 to 2015 Lieutenant-General Yvan Blondin, CMM, CD
- 2015 to 2018 Lieutenant-General Michael John Hood, CMM, CD
- 2018 to present Lieutenant-General <u>Al</u>exander Donald Meinzinger, CMM, MSM, CD