Commanders of the Royal Canadian Navy

Director of the Naval Service (DNS)

Admiral Sir Charles Edmund Kingsmill Commodore First Class Walter Hose 05 May 1910 to 31 December 1920 01 January 1921 to 06 March 1928



Chief of the Naval Staff (CNS)

Commodore First Class Walter Hose, Kt 06 March 6, 1928 to 3' December 1933 Vice-Admiral Percy W. Nelles, CBE 01 January 1, 1934 to 15 January 1944 Vice-Admiral George Clarence Jones, CB 15 January 15, 1944 to 28 February 1946 Vice-Admiral Howard Emerson Reid, CB 28 February 28, 1946 to 01 September 1947 Vice-Admiral Harold Taylor Wood Grant, CBE, DSO, CD 01 September 1947 to 01 December 1951 Vice-Admiral Edmund Rollo Mainguy, OBE, CD 01 December to 16 January 1956 Vice-Admiral Harry George DeWolf, CBE, DSO, DSC, CD 16 January 1956 to 01 August 1960 Vice-Admiral Herbert Sharples Rayner, DSC & Bar 01 August 1960 to 01 August 1964

Principal Naval Adviser (PNA)

Vice-Admiral Kenneth Lloyd Dyer, DSC, CD

01 August 1964 to 16 July 1966

Vice-Admiral Ralph Lucien Hennessy, DSC, CD

16 July 1966 to 15 September 1968

Commander of Maritime Command (Commander MARCOM)

01 January 1966 to 19 July 1966 Rear-Admiral William Moss Landymore, OBE, CD Vice-Admiral John Charles O'Brien, OC, CD 19 July 1966 to 06 July 1970 06 July 1970 to 18 October 1971 Vice-Admiral Henry Allan Porter, CMM, CD Rear-Admiral Robert Walter Timbrell, CMM, DSC, CD 18 October 1971 to 21 August 1973 Vice-Admiral Douglas Seaman Boyle, CMM, CD 21 August 1973 to 14 June 1977 Vice-Admiral Andrew Laurence Collier, CMM, DSC, CD 15 June 1977 to 30 June 1979 Vice-Admiral John Allan, CMM, OStJ, CD 01 July 1979 to 06 August 1980 Vice-Admiral John Andrew ('Andy') Fulton, CMM, OStJ, CD 06 August 1980 to 29 July 1983 Vice-Admiral James Crilly Wood, CMM, OStJ, CD 29 July 1983 to 03 July 1987 Vice-Admiral Charles Morris Winton Thomas, CMM, CD 03 July 1987 to 01 August 1989 Vice-Admiral Robert Earl George, CMM, CD 01 August 1989 to 12 July 1991 Vice-Admiral John Rogers Anderson, CMM, CD 12 July 1991 to 14 July 1992 Vice-Admiral Peter William Cairns, CMM, CD 14 July 1992 to 28 July 1994 Vice-Admiral Lawrence Edward Murray, CM, CMM, MStJ, CD 28 July 1994 to 27 June 1995 27 June 1995 to 09 January 1997 Vice-Admiral Lynn Gordon Mason, CMM, MStJ, CD Vice-Admiral Gary Leslie Garnett, CMM, MStJ, CD 09 January 1997 to 15 May 1997





Commander Maritime Command and Chief of the Maritime Staff (CMS)

Vice-Admiral Gary Leslie Garnett, CMM, CD

Vice-Admiral Gregory Ralph Maddison, CMM, MSC, CD

Vice-Admiral Ronald Douglas Buck, CMM, CD

Vice-Admiral Malcolm Bruce MacLean, CMM, CD

Vice-Admiral Drew William Robertson, CMM, MStJ, MSM, CD

Vice-Admiral Philip Dean McFadden, CMM, CD

May 15, 1997 to September 24, 1997 September 24, 1997 to June 21, 2001 June 21, 2001 to August 25, 2004 August 25, 2004 to January 17, 2006 January 17, 2006 to June 22, 2009 June 22, 2009 to July 22, 2011

Commander of the Royal Canadian Navy and Chief of the Naval Staff (CRCN)

Vice-Admiral Paul Andrew Maddison, CMM, CD Vice-Admiral Mark Arnold Gordon Norman, CMM, CD Vice-Admiral Maurice Francis <u>Ron</u>ald Lloyd, CMM, CD 16 August 2011 to 21 June 2013 21 June 2013 to 23 June 2016 23 June 2016 to present

Note: Much of the details in the biographies have been taken from the web site Nauticapedia http://www.nauticapedia.ca

